Knowledge Base
Billing and Account
Corporate User Questions
What’s the difference between users and sessions?

What’s the difference between users and sessions? Question

Adding Users or Sessions to your subscription are ways to allow multiple people to log in to your SEMrush account at the same time. However, there are some differences in how they work. To add users or sessions to an account, please contact us so your Account Executive can do it for you. 

Users

A user is an added SEMrush login and password with its own dashboard and Projects under a parent account. You can add additional users to an account (Pro, Guru or Business) to allow people with separate credentials to access your product. All users under your subscription will share the limits of the parent account.

Sessions

Sessions can also be added to an account and allow multiple people to simultaneously log in to the same dashboard at the same time. This prevents people that share a single SEMrush login from kicking each other out of the software if they’re trying to access the user interface at the same time.

Multiple sessions will all share the same login, subscription limits, Projects, dashboard, My Reports, and data. Since sessions share the limits of the subscription, there is no ability to customize the distribution of limits across a number of sessions.

Benefits of Users

The benefit of adding users rather than sessions is that the parent account controls the distribution of their subscription limits across the various users added. Accounts with multiple users is common among larger business accounts.

For example, a large search marketing company could add multiple users to a single Business subscription. The company could give one user all of your keyword tracking limits, another user all of the social profile limits, and split the Site Audit page crawl limits between the two.

**An important note to remember is that if you go over your account limit for users you will be locked out of your account. So if you are a business subscriber and you add on that eleventh user you will be kicked off of your account.

How you manage the limits is up to the parent account. This can all be done from the Manage accounts page. From the Profile menu, select Manage accounts and you’ll see options to invite users or manage the limits of the users under your account.

What’s the difference between users and sessions? image 1

 

Send an invite to an email associated with an active SEMrush account (which can be a free account). Once the invite is sent, the second account will have to accept the invitation to be added as a user to the parent account. If a user is invited to a Business account and has a current subscription, the product on their account would be replaced with a Business product.

To share project data between users, you will need to use the project sharing feature on a per-project basis.

Limits

To see the pricing and limits of sessions and users, please refer to the “User Management” section on our Prices page. Pro accounts can add 1 additional user, Guru accounts can add 2 additional users and Business accounts can add up to 9 additional users. For pricing on sessions, please contact us to get in touch with an Account Executive.