The CPC Map provides a way to compare the costs of advertising on Google Ads across different states or regions of a country. The tool lets you analyze states side by side and compare costs and demand in the top search industries.
- Analysis of advertising costs across different states or regions in an industry
- Research in United States, Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Italy, Russia, South Africa and the United Kingdom
- Compare both PPC costs (avg. CPC) and PPC demand (avg. search volume) in international currencies
- Data on 17 industry verticals (depending on chosen country)
Why should you use the CPC Map?
If you run an online business, especially ecommerce, you know that visitors can come from anywhere. But how do you know which areas will be the most receptive and easiest to target?
This tool takes the guesswork out of planning an advertising campaign by giving you data on the differences in costs and demand of advertising in different regions of a country.
Choose your industry to analyze across different regions and compare average CPC and search volume of keywords to find the most affordable region to advertise your website in. Once you find a new state or region that looks like a good opportunity to target, you can set up an A/B test for your ad campaign and see if your ROI improves.
In addition to finding affordable regions to advertise in, you can also identify trends by looking at each industry’s most searched keywords in any state or region. The top three most popular search terms may differ region to region, so you can use this data to inform your strategy.
CPC Map compares search volume and advertising costs in the following industry verticals:
- Marketing & Advertising
- Fitness & Health
- Internet & Telecom
- Real Estate
- Beauty & Skincare
- Online Education
- Home & Garden
- Automobile dealership
- Fashion retail
- Online Banking
Comparing avg. CPC
At the top of this report you’ll see a map with the regions of your selected country color-coded by the average CPC of advertising.
Use the legend on the right hand side to estimate how much the costs of advertising vary state-by-state.
To the left you will see the states/regions with the Minimum and Maximum average CPC in the country. This tells you which areas, on average, are cheapest and most expensive to advertise in. If you select a region from the drop down, you can compare its average to the minimum and maximum for the country.
You can also zoom in to get a closer look at each region/state’s averages. As you click around on regions, the data at the bottom of the report will change to reflect the region you clicked on.
Analyze costs and demand by industry
As stated before, there are 17 industries covered in this tool. The bottom of the report is where you can dive deeper into each industry’s costs and demand in a selected region/state. If you want to analyze the entire country, simply select “All regions” from the drop down.
With this part of the report, you will be able to find:
- Average costs (CPC) for advertising in an industry in the selected region
- Average demand (search volume) for the keywords in an industry in the selected region
- The most expensive keywords in the selected industry and region
- The most popular keywords in the selected industry and region
- Trend of average volume in the selected industry and region
- Trend of average CPC in the selected industry and region
What can you use this data for?
1. Finding “hidden gem” areas to target by comparing search volume to CPC in your niche.
For example, if you view Online Banking in Texas you’ll see the average CPC is $4.10 and average monthly search volume of 907. Then, look at New Mexico and you’ll see the average CPC is $2.74 and average monthly search volume of 3,074. You can infer that there’s a huge demand for Online Banking services in New Mexico, and the cost per click is lower! This research would show that advertising an online banking business in New Mexico could be a better investment than in Texas.
2. Deciding when to leverage branded keywords.
Take the Jewelry industry for example. The most expensive keywords are generic (handmade jewelry, diamond watches for women, etc) while the most popular keywords are branded (g shock, tiffany & co, kay jewelers). In this case, it might make sense to try to target a competitor’s branded keyword to get cheaper yet relevant clicks.
3. SEO or PPC: Choosing where to focus your efforts.
For example, if you are a marketing agency operating in New Jersey, advertising your services will be extremely expensive for you (on average $4.48 per click), so focusing more on SEO to attract organic traffic would be a good idea. Meanwhile, in West Virginia an average CPC for promoting marketing services is $0.80, which means the competition on the SERP is much lower and a PPC campaign can provide a good ROI.