Your browser is out of date. The site might not be displayed correctly. Please update your browser.

Where Can I Manage My Users? Question

Users can be added to any paid SEMrush subscription (Pro, Guru, or Business) from the Subscription Info page or contacting us via phone or email.

How to Make a User an Admin
How Units Work in a Team
How to Distribute Units
Projects
Query Log
Activity Log
 

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 1
Once you have users on your account, you can manage units and permissions from the User Management (Manage Users) option under My Profile.  


Where Can I Manage My Users? image 2Once you are in User Management, the list of current users will be displayed. The owner’s email and limits will be listed at the top and each user under your account will be listed below. There are 3 roles when you have an account with more than one user:

  1. Owner

  2. User

  3. Admin

If you are the initial account holder that pays the subscription and originally signed up for the SEMrush account, you are the owner. All of the added email logins are users. Admins are users that the owner gives management permissions to. 

Admins can also automatically see every user's projects (in read-only mode), so a user doesn't need to share their Projects with the admins or owner of the account for them to know what they’re working on. More details on what each role can do can be found here

Make a User an Admin

When you first invite a user to your team, you can make them an admin by selecting the “Admin” button from the invitation window. 

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 3
To make an existing user an admin, go to User Management and click “Edit user” in the settings gear of that user’s row. From there you can edit their units and change their role from User to Admin.

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 4

 

How Units Work in a Team

By default, all subscription units of a corporate account belong to the account owner until they are manually distributed to the users on the account. Both an owner and an admin have the ability to distribute units to the other users on the plan. Keep in mind that allocated units are always subtracted from the owner's available amount. 

Please note that in a shared Project, units that relate to Project tools such as crawled pages (Site Audit), keywords to track (Position Tracking), social profiles (Social Media Toolkit) and SEO Ideas units (On Page SEO Checker) will all be taken from the user that owns the Project.

So if a Project is created by Randy and Randy shares it with Joe with “edit” access, when Joe edits the Project it will take units from Randy’s account.

Therefore, you need to distribute the subscription units to the user on your team that will be the Project owner.

To illustrate, let’s imagine a four-person team. You are the owner and you add your three teammates (Sally, Randy and Joe) as users to your SEMrush subscription. You trust Sally the most so you appoint her as an admin and keep Randy and Joe as users. 

Since Sally is an admin, she distributes 1 Project, 100 crawled pages and 100 keywords to both Joe and Randy’s accounts. This takes 2 Projects, 200 crawled pages and 200 keywords out of the total subscription’s pool of units.

Randy creates a Project and shares it with Joe with “edit” permissions so they can both make changes in the same Project. Then, Randy sets up Position Tracking and adds 100 keywords to the campaign. 

When Joe tries to add 15 new keywords to the Project, he gets blocked. But, since Randy created the Project, all of the activities in the Project must come from his account. Therefore, Joe currently doesn’t have access to those units. 

Joe tells Sally that he can’t add keywords to the Project and explains the situation. Luckily, Sally remembers what she read on the SEMrush Knowledge Base about how units work. 

So, to fix the issue, Sally goes into the User Management interface and takes the 100 keyword units from Joe’s account and places them into Randy’s account. Now, Joe can go back to Randy’s Project and add the keywords they want to track. 

How to Distribute Units 

Initially, you allocate a certain amount of units when you invite a user to your account.  If at some point you need to distribute more units to a user or, conversely, to take units away from a user, click "Edit user" under the settings gear in the row of the user.

When you click "Edit user" you will be prompted with a window that shows the user’s account information, role, and current unit balance. Simply add or remove units from a user's account by typing the units you want on their account in the window.  You’ll see a hint with the amount of available units that you can distribute from the owner’s account. When you're finished distributing limits, hit "Save."
Where Can I Manage My Users? image 6In the same window, you can upgrade a user to become an admin for your corporate account. Admins can add, remove, or edit user accounts on the subscription.

From the settings gear on this page you can also:

  • Reset your user password

  • Remove a user 

Projects

The Projects tab lists all of the Projects on the account. The owner will be able to see the Projects of every user and can access them all in “edit” mode. 

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 7

By default, admins can see all of their user’s Projects in read-only mode. However, if a user shares their Project in edit mode with an admin, that admin can access from this list and edit the Project.  

With each Project, you can see who is the Project owner and what day the Project was initially created.  You can also change the official owner of the Project with the checkbox and “change owner” button (watch below). 

This is especially important when someone leaves the company and gets deleted from the corporate account. Make sure to transfer their Projects to another user before removal, or else the Projects will be lost.

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 8

Query Log

Here you can see the queries that users under your account have entered in the SEMrush search bar. You can see which user made the query, when they made it, what reports they were using, and what database the data came from.

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 9

Activity Log

The Activity Log is where you can reference the dates of user management activities such as invitations, changes to limits, changes to user roles, and more.

Where Can I Manage My Users? image 10

Frequently asked questions
Show more